Changes to Visa Waiver Program

Kelli Allen

On January 21, 2016, the United States began implementing the new changes to the Visa Waiver Program (VWP). The VWP, or ESTA, is a program that allows citizens of about 40 countries to enter the U.S. for up to 90 days within first applying for a visa.

With limited exceptions, nationals of visa waiver countries who have traveled to or been present in Iran, Iraq, Sudan, or Syria on or after March 1, 2011, will be ineligible for the VWP. Nationals of visa waiver countries who are also nationals of Iran, Iraq, Sudan, or Syria are also ineligible.

Those impacted by this change will be required to apply for and be issued a visa prior to entry into the United States.

Related Posts
  • FAQ Regarding New Parole-In-Place Program for Spouses of U.S. Citizens Read More
  • Year in Review: Immigration in 2021 Read More
  • Immigration Reforms in the Build Back Better Act Read More